2009 Viola Ross Napier

Viola Ross Napier Celebration

Macon, Georgia | Thursday, August 27, 2009

Every two years, Georgia’s WIN List gathers its supporters in Macon and Middle Georgia to celebrate the legacy of Viola Ross Napier, a Maconite who was the first women sworn into office in the Georgia General Assembly.  As part of this event, Georgia’s WIN List has created the Viola Ross Napier Award to recognize women who – like Viola Ross Napier – are trailblazers.

Viola Ross Napier Award Recipients


  • In 2009, Georgia’s WIN List honored Representative Nikki T. Randall.  Like Napier, Randall has had a political career of “firsts.”  She made history in 1999, when she became the first African American female to be elected to the Georgia General Assembly from Middle Georgia.  Her career in the Georgia House of representatives has spanned more than 10 years and she is currently Vice Chair of the House Democratic Caucus.


  • In 2007, Georiga’s WIN List gave the first Viola Ross Napier award to Cathy Cox.  In 1999, Cox became the first woman to serve as Georgia’s  Secretary of State after having served in the Georgia House of Representatives from 1993 to 1996, and Assistant Secretary of State from 1996 to 1999.  Cathy Cox is currently the President of Young Harris College.


Photos from the 2009 Viola Ross Napier Celebration – click on each photo for detailed information.